Railway Industry Innovation Awards 2018-04-20T08:38:50+00:00
RIIA major project winner


Founded in 1998, the Railway Industry Innovation Awards are the longest-standing awards scheme in the industry. Now organised by the 4th Friday Club, the Awards are the annual event at which everybody keen on seeing innovation in the railway sector meets up to discuss and celebrate the brightest ideas in the industry

NEXT EVENT: Friday 22 June 2018

VENUE: Paddington Hilton, 146 Praed St, London W2 1EE

2017-06-23 12:00:00 2017-06-23 16:00:00 Europe/London Railway Industry Innovation Awards Railway Industry Innovation Awards Paddington Hilton, Paddington Hilton, 146 Praed St, London W2 1EE Fourth Friday Club 4thfridayclub@gmail.com


Roger Ford


Roger Ford

Industry and Technology Editor, Modern Railways

Roger is probably best known for his authoritative column ‘Informed Sources’ in the monthly trade and technical magazine Modern Railways. ‘Informed Sources’ is noted for its in-depth analysis of railway technical, commercial and policy issues.

Roger Ford


Jon Shaw

Chief Engineer, Network Rail

Jon Shaw joined Network Rail in 2015 from Bombardier, where he was VP Engineering responsible for the design development and maintenance engineering of Bombardier’s trains across Europe, the Middle East and Africa. His previous roles include Global VP Engineering for Ansaldo STS based in Genoa and seven years working for Hitachi on the development and introduction of the Javelin trains onto HS1. A chartered engineer, Jon is a Fellow of both the IRSE and IET and, following the award of a gold scholarship, holds an MBA with distinction from the University of Manchester.


The Railway Industry Innovation Awards:

12.00: pre-lunch drinks

13.00: lunch

14.20: after-lunch speech from guest speaker

15.00: the Railway Industry Innovation Awards

16.00: event closes.


The 4th Friday Club’s annual event celebrating the best in railway innovation takes place every June. It is the partner event to the Railway Industry Association’s innovation conference in the spring. The 2018 awards will be the 21st for the longest standing award scheme in the industry.

This is an event to celebrate the achievements of those companies and individuals who are pushing the industry forward by developing innovative ideas.


Entries in the Railway Industry Innovation Awards are assigned to one of these categories:

• Environment

• Passenger experience

• Cross-industry partnership

• Operations and performance

• Engineering

• Safety

• Small-scale project

• Major project

Winners of the Railway Industry Innovation Awards are presented with a fine cut glass engraved vase from Dartington Glass.


Online entry form and entry information can be found HERE. Entry is free of charge.

Deadline for applications in the 2018 competition: noon on Monday 30th April 2018


Tables of 10 at this event cost £1350 +VAT, sponsorship details available on request. Contact Chris Shilling on 07736 635916 or email chris@shillingmedia.co.uk


The Railway Industry Innovation Award entries are judged by a panel of industry experts:

Haydn Abbott

CHAIRMAN Haydn Abbott

Former Managing Director of Angel Trains
The former Managing Director of the Angel Trains Group has also served as Chairman of the Railway Industry Association, the Railway Sector Advisory Group and is also Chairman of the UK arm of the Railway Children charity.
James Abbott

James Abbott

Editor of Modern Railways magazine
James is one of the most respected journalists in the railway industry. He also manages the Fourth Friday Club, the magazine’s programme of formal events which includes three major annual awards ceremonies.
David Clarke

David Clarke

Technical Director, Railway Industry Association
A chartered engineer, David has over 30 years’ rail industry experience. He was previously innovation director at RSSB, moving to RIA in 2016 to represent members’ interests in the areas of safety, technical standards, technical strategy, research and innovation.
Ben Ford

Ben Ford

Innovation Support Manager, Network Rail
Previously Innovation Manager at Pera, Ben joined Network Rail in 2012 where his role is to support and promote the company’s innovation agenda, help define projects, facilitate access to resources and manage and develop innovation systems.
Chris Loder

Chris Loder

Head of Service Strategy, South Western Railway
Chris has extensive experience in the field of operations and has held roles with a number of UK operators. He joined South West Trains in 2012 and is responsible for strategy and service planning including train frequencies, routes, calling patterns, revenue and customer-driven planning.

Neil Webster

Innovation Programme Director, RSSB
Neil joined RSSB in 2015, where he is responsible for a cross-industry innovation programme funded by Network Rail and the Department for Transport. Prior to this he worked at the Royal Aerospace Establishment, Defence Evaluation Research Agency and QinetiQ. He is also an executive MBA graduate of Henley Business School.